Brownsville Herald – FEMA returning to Brownsville

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is urging renters and homeowners to take advantage of mobile Disaster Recovery Centers opening across the Rio Grande Valley through October.

FEMA and the Texas Division of Emergency Management are staffing the centers at the eight counties in South Texas declared disaster areas by President Barack Obama in the wake of Hurricane Alex and subsequent flooding.

Through the presidential emergency declaration, Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Maverick, Starr, Webb, Willacy and Zapata counties have received federal funding to provide residents and business owners assistance, including grants for temporary housing and home repairs and low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses.

To read the entire article, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s