AmLaw Daily – Deferred Associate Diaries Part IV: The Clients

I was sitting in the backyard recently, reading a magazine. My tomato plants had started to bear fruit. Lettuce from the garden had provided lunch. A cold wind pinched my ears and fog blocked out the sun–summer had arrived in San Francisco.

An old friend called to tell me about his recent law school graduation, and to grouse about spending the next two months locked in a library preparing for the bar exam. He asked me what I recalled from my time studying for the bar the summer before, but I drew a blank. “Just a lot of fluorescent lights and practice tests, man,” I said. “I’m sorry.”

After we got off the phone, I sat back and put myself back where he was, where I had been only eleven months ago after graduating from law school. The review process he was about to go through was too dry to spend much time revisiting, but I was surprised to note how my understanding of client service had developed over that period.

To read the entire story, click here.

Leave a Reply

